Tags

, ,


One of my favorite things about making wedding cakes is when I get repeat orders from families.  These cakes were actually a few years apart, but I realized that I hadn’t posted the first one before.  It was for a friend’s son and his bride.  It’s been long enough ago that I don’t remember the flavors of the cake, but I do remember making all the different snowflakes and having a lot of fun doing it.  The picture isn’t fabulous, I really should take a photography class,  but this is the best I got.

IMG_1173

The snowflakes were a mix of royal icing and gum paste painted with silver and ice blue luster dust.

About a year and a half later I got a call that one of the brides’ younger sisters (she has three) was getting married and having a summer wedding.  It was actually held in a backyard in my neighborhood.  The cake was devils food with mint chocolate ganache.

IMG_2878

The top tier was fondant with piped royal icing coral polka dots, then a tier of light peach fondant with white brush embroidery flowers, and the bottom was white with more coral royal icing, this time in stripes.   I loved the opportunity to use so many techniques, but my favorite part of the cake were the gum paste dahlias.

IMG_2879 IMG_2880

I was very happy with how they came out, and the colors were perfect with the outdoor setting.

